Racial and Cultural Diversity Commission

The Little Rock Racial and Cultural Diversity Commission is committed to collaborating with individuals and organizations in an effort to realize goals for equity in all facets of our community. The success of the Commission is directly reliant upon the involvement of the community as a whole. The Little Rock Racial and Cultural Diversity Commission has the full-time mission of promoting equal opportunity and the full exercise of civil rights for all residents of the City. It is committed to dismantling racism and reducing prejudice within the City through modeling, education, and policy development.


The Little Rock Racial and Cultural Diversity Commission currently has two subcommittees to help fulfill its mission:

  • Multicultural and Economic Development Subcommittee
  • Community Justice and Law Enforcement Subcommittee

CLICK HERE to learn about open positions and apply to be a Commissioner.

For More Information

Amber D. Jackson, Equity Program Manager
Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
500 West Markham Street, Room 220W
Little Rock, AR 72201
(501) 244-5464


AUTHORITY: Ordinance No. 16,722 (August 2, 1991); Ordinance No. 17,665 (January 20, 1998);
Ordinance No. 17,926 (January 19, 1999); Ordinance No. 18,754 (October 1, 2002); Ordinance No. 20,746
Three (3) years
MEMBERS: Thirteen (13)
DUTIES: To advise and assist the city in combating racism through education, mediation and legislation; to promote equal opportunity and full exercise of civil rights for all person without discrimination because of race, ethnicity, color or national origin; to engage in such activities as may be referred to the Commission by the Board of Directors; and to prepare an annual report of the Commission's activities.
SELECTION: Members of this Commission are appointed by the Little Rock Board of Directors, which consists of the following:
One (1) Ward 1 Representative
One (1) Ward 2 Representative
One (1) Ward 3 Representative
One (1) Ward 4 Representative
One (1) Ward 5 Representative
One (1) Ward 6 Representative
One (1) Ward 7 Representative
Five (5) At-Large Representatives

2nd Thursday of each month at 12:00 pm. Currently meeting remotely except meetings in January, April, August, and November, which begin at 11:30 am and occur at the Willie Hinton Neighborhood Resource Center. 

Current Members

Joe E. Blanks, Jr.
Term Expires: 3-31-2024
Osyrus Bolly
Term Expires: 3-31-2024
Ellen Brown (Chair)
(Ward 6)
Term Expires: 3-31-2024
Sky Brower
(Ward 4)
Term Expires: 3-31-2024

Tim Campbell
(Ward 1)
Term Expires: 3-31-2024

Jodie Carter
Christopher Harvey
(Ward 3)
Dr. Sharon Lanier
(Ward 7)
Sharon Oglesby
Term Expires: 3-31-2024

Matthew Ramsey
Term Expires: 3-31-2023

Roger Steging
(Ward 5)
Term Expires: 3-31-2024

Beatriz Varela
(LRSD Rep)
Term Expires: 3-31-2025
City Director Kathy Webb
(Board of Directors Liaison)
Term Expires:  12-31-2022

City Director Ken Richardson
(Board of Directors Liaison)
Term Expires:  12-31-2022